The Travancore - Cochin Council of Modern Medicine

 Regulation and Promotion of standards of Medical practitioners has been in existence for several years.  Councils to safe guard the ethics of Medical Practice are in existence in all countries and in the various states.

In India, the Medical Council of India was established in 1934 under the Indian Medical Council Act, 1933, now repealed, with the main function of establishing uniform standards of higher qualifications in medicine and recognition of medical qualifications in India and abroad. The number of medical colleges had increased steadily during the years after Independence. It was felt that the provisions of Indian Medical Council Act were not adequate to meet with the challenges posed by the very fast development and the progress of medical education in the country. As a result, in 1956, the old Act was repealed and a new one was enacted. This was further modified in 1964, 1993 and 2001. The objectives of the Council are as follows.
1.    Maintenance of uniform standards of medical education, both undergraduate and postgraduate.
2.    Recommendation for recognition/de-recognition of medical qualifications of medical institutions of India or foreign countries.
3.    Permanent registration/provisional registration of doctors with recognised medical qualifications,
4.    Reciprocity with foreign countries in the matter of mutual recognition of medical qualifications.
The mandate of maintaining high standards of practice however rests with the states as health is primarily a state subject.

In the State of Kerala, the first initiative to set up a council was taken by the H.H., the Maharaja of Travancore, in 1944.  The Travancore medical practitioners’ bill was discussed in  the Legislature and formally passed as an act by H.H the Maharaja of  Travancore on 1st Chingam 1119 (Corresponding to 17th August 1943)  as Act No.VII of 1119. The Travancore Medical Council comprising of seventeen members from various disciplines viz.  Allopathy, Ayurveda, Siddhavaidhya, Unani and Homeopathy was formed under this Act. The Act was named the Travancore Medical Practitioners’ Act.

Read more...